The University of Zagreb was founded in the year 1669 by the Emperor Leopold I. 200 years and 4 faculties later (Philosophy, Law, Theology, and Medicine), the University was officially recognised. Today, the number of faculties amounts to 29, which host 52,000 students. In addition, there are 3 artistic higher education schools

At the University, the ECTS point system is used to calculate study performance. The degrees are fully recognised in the EU.

Furthermore, the University of Zagreb is a member of different international associations. Some of them are:

AMEE (Association for Medical Education in Europe)

AMSE (Association for Medical Schools in Europe)

WFME (World Federation for Medical Education)

In case you come from a country from outside the EU, and you are not sure whether your degree will be recognised there, you can ask directly the professional associations or the medical authorities in your country.