The Faculty of Medicine has introduced new degree programmes since 1997 – in addition to the medical degree programmes taught in Romanian, it now also offers degree programmes in English and French. These two new options have been developed gradually in order to adapt the faculty’s programmes to the international context. After Romania joined the European Union, the faculty prepared an attractive curriculum and course structure which is now studied by over 1,000 students from 25 different countries. International students represent 30% of the students enrolled in the faculty.

Medical degree at the Faculty of Medicine, University Iuliu Hatieganu::

  • Language: English and French.
  • Degree in General Medicine: 360 ECTS credits.
  • Duration: 6 years.

One of the faculty’s current objectives is to integrate its international students in the social and cultural life of the community, and is seeking to achieve this through various projects organised by teaching staff and the Organisation of Medical Students. In addition to the research activities that take place in many of the faculty’s departments, the student scientific research groups are a real source of information for those looking to develop their research skills. Students’ research findings have won a number of awards and prizes at national and international competitions.

The Faculty of Medicine at the University Iuliu Hatieganu currently has::

  • 5200 students
  • 2000 residents
  • 93 MAster degree students
  • 700 PhD candidates

Each year, hundreds of graduated in Medicine come to the Faculty to carr on with their studies through postgraduate courses within the continuous medical education programme.


The Faculty of Medicine in Cluj-Napoca has 586 teaching staff, of which 192 are professors and the rest are associates. Not only are they responsible for teaching 5,200 undergraduate students, but they also teach the Master degree programmes, doctorate programmes, specialist residency programmes and postgraduate degrees.

The university has experienced a dynamic evolution since 1990, which has led to an increase in the number of students and the development of new facilities (which are essential for providing a modern education), enabling it to double the number of its teaching staff.

The faculty consists of different specialities grouped in 18 departments, which are responsible for carrying out the teaching tasks. The degree programme has a particular focus on the basic science departments during the first and second year, with the final three years of the degree programme focusing on the clinical sciences departments.

Basic science courses are taught within the faculty’s departments, whereas the clinical aspects of the degree programme are taught in the city’s hospitals. In addition to the 18 departments mentioned above, there are a number of other departments that are also active within the faculty. These departments carry out activities in the fields of preventive medicine and public health, as well as activities relating to humanistic and behavioural sciences. Several of the faculty’s teachers are members of national science organisations, national academic management structures (CNCSIS, CNFIS, CNACTDU), committees of the Ministry of Health and the Romanian College of Physicians.

The Faculty is proud to have among its teaching staff two members of the Romanian Academy, Professor Dr. Gheorge Benga and Professor Dr. Nicolae Ghizelan. Moreover, 14 of the teaching staff belong to the Medical Science Academy. The ongoing improvement in the educational and professional quality of the teachers is one of the priorities of the Faculty. Thus, the University promotes the active participation in institutional continuing education projects both at national and international level.